Research QuickStart

Selected Resources for: Art and Architecture

RSS feed for this guide RSS feed of this page
http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/rqs_rss.phtml?subject_id=10

(Display all resources).

Subject Librarian:

Find Articles Using Databases

    Academic or Scholarly

  Art Full Text Authentication Required 
http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aft
    1984 - present
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
  Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/?DestApp=WOS&editions=AHCI
    1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanities disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
  Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Authentication Required EndNote Enabled 
http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=oldd&access=oldd3&db=avery-set-c
    1934 - present
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.

Multimedia Materials

    Images

  ARTstor Authentication Required 
http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=http://www.artstor.org
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.

Reference Resources

    Almanacs and Encyclopedias

  Art History Resources on the Web
http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
Contains an encyclopedic, chronological and thematic collection of art historical images and texts.
  Grove Art Online Authentication Required 
http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordartonline.com
    Prehistory - present
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.