Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 54 Social Sciences Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


19th Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Academic Video Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Provides over 13,000 titles, and is growing at more than 500 new videos per month. By 2013 it will include more than 20,000 films. Academic Video Online covers a wide range of disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
America's Historical Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1998
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eight series of Early American Newspapers (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922, Series 8, 1844-1922), and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Restricted to ODU
American History in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1898 to Present
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Indian Histories and Cultures Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1492-Present
Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1987 - present
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains records from journals published in many different countries, including the UK and US.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century ProQuest
Fulltext Historic
Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1834-1966
Includes the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and beyond. Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
Restricted to ODU
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I, II, and III Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I,II, and III provide the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1968 - present
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Restricted to ODU
Digital Sanborn Maps ProQuest
Fulltext 1867 -1970
Provides large-scale maps of towns and cities in Virginia, plus Washington, DC. This resource is valuable to anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Data include the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of nine series (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; Series 9, 1832-1922; and Series 10 (1730-1900).
Restricted to ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
Gender Studies Database EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Restricted to ODU
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs ProQuest
Fulltext 1543-1945
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Fulltext Colonial times - present
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Restricted to ODU
International Encyclopedia of Education Elsevier
Fulltext 2010 - Present
Of interest to Educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
Restricted to ODU
International Studies Encyclopedia Online Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1959 - Present
Published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International Studies Online) or as a 12-volume set in print. This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
LGBT Thought and Culture Alexander_Street
Fulltext 20th Century - Present
Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s to present, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Restricted to ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1750 - 1950
Brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Restricted to ODU
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - Present
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Selected Fulltext Early 1970's - present
Contains publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
Unrestricted
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
PAIS Archive ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1915 - 1976
Comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, and provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PAIS International ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1972 - current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies and more, on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO APA
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Routledge
Fulltext Historic and Current
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Social Services Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1979 - present
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Sociological Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Gale
Fulltext 1822 - 2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail.
Restricted to ODU
Sustainability Science Abstracts ProQuest
Fulltext 1995 - Current
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science ISI
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Wiley Online Library Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 2007-Present
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals from professional fields and partnerships with many of the world's leading societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Alexander_Street
Selected Fulltext 1600 - 2000
Provides a wide variety of resources relating to the history of women in social movements in the United States. The collection includes the online version of "Notable American Women".
Restricted to ODU
Women and Social Movements International Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1840 - present
Contains a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Restricted to ODU
Women's Studies International EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z