Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter S

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Sabin Americana, 1500 - 1926 Gale
Fulltext 1500 -1926
Contains books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Restricted to ODU
Safari Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides an e-reference library containing collections of emerging technology books, manuscripts, papers and instructional video, geared towards IT, software developers, web designers, system administrators and creative pros. Allows a maximum of 47 users at a time.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
Salud en Espanol EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides the Spanish version of Consumer Health Complete. Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
SciFinder
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database.
Restricted to ODU
Senior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1980
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Restricted to ODU
SIAM Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to research journals published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Restricted to ODU
Silent Film Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1890-1930
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Restricted to ODU
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
Restricted to ODU
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1490-2007
Provides a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Social Services Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1979 - present
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Sociological Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1952 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Something About the Author Online Gale
Fulltext 1971 - present
Provides access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Restricted to ODU
SPORTDiscus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1985 - Present
Serves as the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Sports Market Place Directory
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides current key information about the people, organizations and events involving the explosive sports industry.
Restricted to ODU
SpringerLINK
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to peer-reviewed journals and individual documents in the scientific, technical & medical (STM) fields. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996. Also includes four subject-based e-book collections: the 2013 frontlists for Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Science, Computer Science, and Earth and Environmental Science. These include the Lecture Notes. Complimentary archival rights were also given to the 2005 e-book collections in these subject areas.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Statesman's Yearbook
Fulltext Current
Includes reliable information on every country in the world, covering history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.
Restricted to ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1990 - Present
Provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
Restricted to ODU
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Gale
Fulltext 1822 - 2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail.
Restricted to ODU
Sustainability Science Abstracts ProQuest
Fulltext 1995 - Current
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Human Population and Natural Resource Management is a ceased database that has been archived in Sustainability Science Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All