Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter P

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


PAIS International ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1915 - current
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) Videos
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of outstanding video programming from the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). The collection contains 311 titles in 498 program segments varying from 30 minutes to 1 hour in length.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Pennsylvania Gazette Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1728 - 1800
Provides full text articles, news items, editorials, letters, etc. from The Pennsylvania Gazette, considered The New York Times of the 18th century. Also includes full-text of documents such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
Restricted to ODU
Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1809 - 1870
Contains a listing of marriages, deaths and obituaries from the Village Record, published in West Chester, Pennsylvania. Included, however, is information about emigration patterns, customs and traditions, important events, medical history, biographical data, etc. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1819 - 1870
Contains full-text transcriptions of articles, advertisements, and vital statistics, providing insight into technology, business activity and material culture in a down-river milling and manufacturing community at the height of the Industrial Revolution.
Restricted to ODU
Philosopher's Index EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Physical Education Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press, featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PILOTS ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1871 - present
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Plant Science ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1994 - present
Abstracts the scientific literature on plant science. Major areas of coverage include: Physiology, Pathology, Environmental biology & pollution, Breeding, Agronomy & horticulture, Biotechnology, Diversity, Genetics, Taxonomy, Crop protection, Water & nutrients, Plants & medicine, Algae, lichens, mosses & ferns, Forestry, and Pest Control.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Points of View Reference Center EBSCOhost
Fulltext Historical and Current
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. This database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Restricted to ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Pollution Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
Combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Major areas of coverage include: Air Pollution, Marine Pollution, Freshwater Pollution, Sewage and Wastewater Treatment, Waste Management, Land Pollution, Toxicology and Health, Noise, Radiation, and Environmental Action.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PreK-3rd Data Resource Center @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1979 - Present
Provides information from the Foundation for Child Development's PreK-3rd initiative and builds the research field by facilitating the analysis of rich, complex, longitudinal datasets that contain a wide range of variables on the child, family, school, and neighborhood.
Restricted to ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project Euclid Journals
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to independent and society journals in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995 - 2002
Provides an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to several databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, Dissertations & Theses Full Text, High Technology & Aerospace Journals, American Periodicals Series Online. Also includes historical newspapers - the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century .
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Congressional ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Contains full text for U.S. Congressional publications, bills, legislative histories, laws, etc. The ODU Library has purchased the following retrospective collections, Committee Prints (1830-present), Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-present), and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003). The database also includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
PsycARTICLES APA
Fulltext 1894 - present
Contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycBOOKS APA
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes scholarly titles published by APA Books and others. PsycBOOKS also features the exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. The embargo period for PsycBOOKS is approximately 12 months.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO APA
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycTESTS APA
Fulltext 1896 to present
Is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Restricted to ODU
PubMed (Medline and more)
Selected Fulltext 1950 - present
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts. PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
Unrestricted

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All