Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter N

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1960 - Present
Acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. By preserving and making available an easily accessible library of electronic data on drug addiction and HIV infection in the United States, NAHDAP offers scholars the opportunity to conduct secondary analysis on major issues of social and behavioral sciences and public policy. NAHDAP was established at ICPSR in 2010 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), part of the National Institutes of Health.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1804 - Present
Acquires and provides access to data relevant to gerontological research with an emphasis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1948 - Present
Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
Restricted to ODU
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - Present
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive Gale
Fulltext 1888-1994
Brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Nature Journals Online
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to some of the Nature Publishing Group (NPG) resources in biological and physical sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
NBC Learn Higher Ed
Streaming Video 1920 - Present
Is a collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images; One of the largest news archives in the world; Collections are updated with current events daily from celebrated NBC programs.
Restricted to ODU
NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data Archive @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995-Present
Provides a valuable source of information for addressing a variety of issues related to both intercollegiate athletics and higher education generally. These data are collected to help answer research questions posed by college presidents, athletics personnel, faculty, student-athlete groups, the media, researchers and others in the higher education community and to assist in the development of national athletics policies.
Restricted to ODU
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Selected Fulltext Early 1970's - present
Contains publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.
Unrestricted
Neurosciences Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
New York Times w/ Index ProQuest
Fulltext 1851 - 2006
Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. The Index covers 1851-1993.
Restricted to ODU
NewsBank Readex
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to national and international newspapers, many cover-to-cover full-text. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Restricted to ODU
Norfolk Journal and Guide ProQuest
Fulltext 1921 - 2003
Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the "Dean of the Negro Press", The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.
Restricted to ODU
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander_Street
Fulltext Colonial to 1950
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, including more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Restricted to ODU
Nucleic Acids Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Find perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies as well as gene regulatory sequences and proteins, RNA processing and transport, RNA editing DNA biosynthesis, transcription factors and oncoproteins.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All