Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter M

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Making of the Modern World Gale
Fulltext 1450 - 1850
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, covering commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Restricted to ODU
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1750 - 1950
Brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Restricted to ODU
MasterFILE Premier EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides access to general periodicals covering business, education, health, science and more, reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts, biographies, primary source documents, Magill Book Reviews, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Materials Business File ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. News, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations and management issues are all covered.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Materials Research Database ProQuest
No Fulltext 1966 - present
Indexes materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Includes primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. Weldasearch is ceased and is now archived in Materials Research Database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MathSciNet
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Combines Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2009 - Present
Represents the largest study of classroom teaching ever conducted in the United States. Supported by a grant from Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, MET researchers collected a variety of indicators of teaching quality over a two year period (AY 2009-2010 and AY 2010-2011) in the classrooms of more than 2500 fourth- through ninth-grade teachers working in 317 schools located in six large school districts in the United States.
Restricted to ODU
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Provides abstracts of the journal literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - 2002
Abstracts the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. Presents theoretical perspectives, specific applications, reports on key developments published in journals, articles, and conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MedicLatina EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to medical research and investigative journals in native Spanish, published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1997 - present
This database is a comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature. The database is updated daily with the full version refresh of the December 14, 2011 release by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to occur prior to March 13, 2012.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1950 - present
Includes records with substantial abstracts in all areas of medicine. Corresponds to the print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Medline - ISI Web of Knowledge ISI
No Fulltext 1950 - present
MEDLINE on this service contains citations and abstracts which cover a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index with significant material from Index to Dental Literature.
Restricted to ODU
Mental Measurements Yearbook EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1985 - present
Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Database now includes Tests in Print. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Mergent Horizon
Fulltext Current
Provides users with seamless capabilities for finding, filtering and organizing information about companies and industries. Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mergent Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mergent WebReports
Fulltext 1900's to present
Provides access to a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents through the following modules: Corporate Manuals and Municipal & Government Manuals. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
Restricted to ODU
METADEX ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Abstracts information from journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Middle and Junior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.
Restricted to ODU
Military & Government Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mintel Reports
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts. Please create or sign-in to your Mintel Reports Personal Profile if you wish to save, download, or bookmark records. You must sign-up with your Old Dominion University e-mail address to create your Mintel Reports Personal Profile.
Restricted to ODU
MLA International Bibliography ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications ProQuest
No Fulltext 1895 - 1976
Provides a digital version of the US Government Printing Office's authorized government bibliography from 1895 to June 1976. This comprehensive index describes over 1.2 million items and makes it much easier to locate historical government documents in all subject areas.
Restricted to ODU
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Fulltext Coverage varies by report
Provides in-depth data and analysis for stocks and mutual funds. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Mosby's Nursing Consult Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by resource
Includes Nursing reference books, journals, drug information, patient education materials, drug calculators, clinical updates, practice guidelines, images, and Nursing-related news.
Restricted to ODU
Music Index Online EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1975- present
Indexes international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music. Includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Restricted to ODU
Music Online Alexander_Street
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides a comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. The new interface cross-searches the following Alexander Street products, African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
MusicalAmerica.com
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes industry articles, agent search, artist search, press releases, calendar of events and a career center.
Restricted to ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All