Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 34 Literature Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


18th Century Collections Online (ECCO) Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
19th Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Academic Video Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Provides over 13,000 titles, and is growing at more than 500 new videos per month. By 2013 it will include more than 20,000 films. Academic Video Online covers a wide range of disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
African American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains full-text of thousands of African-American poems. The African American Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Colonial period to early 20th century
Includes thousands of poems from the colonial period to the early 20th century. The American Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Art Index Retrospective EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1913 - Present
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ARTFL - American Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Fulltext 17th - 20th century
Provides classical French writings, including literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century.
Restricted to ODU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BBC Shakespeare Plays, The
Streaming Video 1590-1613
This series is regarded as the canon against which other Shakespeare performances on film are measured and compared. Thirty-seven plays are chaptered by acts and feature some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. These video clips are an ideal choice for libraries, and literature classes.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
Children's Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian,both periodicals and books, is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books in this collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Classical Music in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Contemporary Authors - Literature Resource Center Gale
Fulltext 1900 - present
Included as part of the Literature Resource Center database. Results from Author search will include link to Contemporary Authors. The Literature Resource Center provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU ProQuest
Fulltext 1861 - Present
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
English Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Pre-Tudor era - 1899
Contains poems in English from the Anglo-Saxon era to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles. The English Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
English Verse Drama Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1270 - 1899
Contains works from the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. The English Verse Drama Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
International Encyclopedia of Education Elsevier
Fulltext 2010 - Present
Of interest to Educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. NEW FEATURE--JSTOR now offers access to Early Journal Content (pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
Restricted to ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Online (LION) Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1996 - Present
A searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 383 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Resource Center Gale
Selected Fulltext Varied
Includes full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources (e.g., Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism) and from books in Twayne's Author Series.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MLA International Bibliography ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Routledge
Fulltext Historic and Current
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Restricted to ODU
Sears List of Subject Headings EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1923-Present
Serves as a thesaurus-like database delivering a core list of headings, together with patterns and examples to guide the cataloger in creating further headings as needed. Fills the unique needs of small and medium sized libraries, suggesting headings appropriate for use in their catalogs and providing patterns and instructions for adding new headings as they are required.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Senior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Something About the Author Online Gale
Fulltext 1971 - present
Provides access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Restricted to ODU
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive Gale
Fulltext 1902 - 2005
Offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications, in every subject, in several languages - as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions. The TLS continues to scrutinize, applaud and dissect the work of leading writers and thinkers.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z