Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter G

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Gale Gale
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to a variety of databases, including MLA International Bibliography, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, and Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
Restricted to ODU
Gale NewsVault Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Search or browse across the following Gale historical newspaper and periodical collections: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and the Times Digital Archive.
Restricted to ODU
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For some titles there may be a more recent edition in print format.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Alexander_Street
Fulltext Current
Provides a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. It includes the entire set of 10 print volumes, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
Restricted to ODU
Gender Studies Database EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Restricted to ODU
Genetics Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Provides the widest possible perspective of genetics as a whole, from microbes to plants to humans. The field of molecular genetics is emphasized, with important information on all aspects of DNA, differentiation and development, RNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, nuclear proteins and chromatin, enzymes, and gene regulation.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
GEOBASE Elsevier
Fulltext 1973 - present
Serves as a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
GeoRef ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1669 - present
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains millions of references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
Restricted to ODU
GeoScienceWorld
Selected Fulltext Approximately 2000 - present
Includes peer-reviewed articles from high-impact journals in geoscience areas. GSW is integrated with GeoRef.
Restricted to ODU
GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections
Fulltext 1926 - Present
Is a nonprofit collaborative and comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the earth sciences. GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences.
Restricted to ODU
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs ProQuest
Fulltext 1543-1945
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Restricted to ODU
Global Financial Database
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides an extensive collection of financial and economic data covering more than 200 countries extending back to 1265. The database contains economic, fixed income, equity, and total return categories, as well as a Global History of Currencies feature. NOTE: Our subscription includes the U.S. Stock Market Database, and the Real Estate Database.
Restricted to ODU
Global Plants JSTOR
Fulltext Historic and Current
A community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. It is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies.
Restricted to ODU
Godey's Lady's Book Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1830 - 1885
Contains articles on a wide variety of subjects, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. The magazine is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture. Also includes fashion descriptions and plates, book reviews, essays and short stories, and sheet music.
Restricted to ODU
GPO Access
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides free online use of Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Congressional Record and other congressional publications, Budget of the U.S., United States Code, and many more. Also contains Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and the Government Information Locator Service (GILS).
Unrestricted
GPO, Government Publications Monthly Catalog FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1976 - present
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Grove Art Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Grove Music Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All