Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 33 Engineering Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


AccessScience
Fulltext Current
Contains the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies, biographies of well-known scientists, and the latest news in science and technology.
Restricted to ODU
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 2007-Present
Contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Title Changed from High Technology Research Database.
Restricted to ODU
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
Fulltext 1930 - present
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Restricted to ODU
Aluminium Industry Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Includes information from scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering ProQuest
No Fulltext 1981 - present
Includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Applied Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
Restricted to ODU
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Includes a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Compendex Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Conference Papers Index ProQuest
No Fulltext 1982 - present
This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Corrosion Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1980 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Electronics & Communications Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Engineered Materials Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1986 - current
Covers the science, development and production of ceramics, polymers and composite materials.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Engineering Village Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Contains the Compendex (1969-present), Ei Backfile (Engineering Index from 1884-1968), GEOBASE (1973-present), Inspec (1969-present) and Inspec backfile (1896-1968) databases for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to full-text engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1990 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1967 - present
Abstracts research on all aspects of the environmental sciences, including air, land, water and noise pollution, bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental biotechnology and engineering, waste management, water resources, policies and regulations, and U.S. federal environmental impact statements. Safety Science has ceased and is now archived in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
IEEE Xplore
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards. Allows a maximum of 15 users at a time.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Inspec Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1896 - present
Abstracts international journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations and books from the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology. Users must have pop-ups enabled on their browser for this resource to work.
Restricted to ODU
Journals@Ovid Full Text OVID
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1999 - Present
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances; including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Restricted to ODU
Knovel Library
Selected Fulltext Current
Includes leading reference works and databases from international publishers and professional societies, covering material properties, process and design information, best practices, and equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Restricted to ODU
Materials Business File ProQuest
No Fulltext 1985 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. News, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations and management issues are all covered.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1981 - 2002
Abstracts the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. Presents theoretical perspectives, specific applications, reports on key developments published in journals, articles, and conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
METADEX ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Abstracts information from journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PapersFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes papers from every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Proceedings FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1993 - present
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present
Indexes major journals across many scientific disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Solid State & Superconductivity Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all aspects of theory, production and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Web of Science ISI
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z