Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 40 Education Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Fulltext Current
Provides access to journal publishing directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Curriculum & Methods, Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, and Psychology & Psychiatry. The directories contain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals, as well as information on publication guidelines, acceptance rates and review information.
Restricted to ODU
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1919 - Present
Offers a comprehensive, easily searchable collection of more than 15,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. The site offers the most current publications, as well as links to child care policy statements.
Restricted to ODU
Children's Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian,both periodicals and books, is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books in this collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Restricted to ODU
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes reviews, MARC records and related information about children's literature from over 38 quality review media including the ALAN Review, BookList, KIRKUS, National Science Teachers Association, and VOYA. Find books by subject, age level, genre, and much more. Includes Reading Measurement Programs (Lexile, AR, Scholastic Reading Counts), Curriculum Tools, and links to over 240,000 web pages featuring children's authors and illustrators.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU ProQuest
Fulltext 1861 - Present
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743-Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
EdITLib (Education & Information Technology Digital Library)
Selected Fulltext 2000 - present
Provides access to peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning. Sponsored by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education.
Restricted to ODU
Education Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983-present
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Restricted to ODU
Education Research Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Provides full text for more than 900 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Education Source EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1929 - Present
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes Education Full Text, Education Research Complete, Education Abstracts and Education Retrospective, plus 200 more journals.
Restricted to ODU
ERIC EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.
Restricted to ODU
ERIC (Proquest) ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Some ERIC journal citations link to full-text.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Selected Fulltext 1966 - present
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format.
Unrestricted
Films on Demand
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Provides access to films in the humanities and social sciences, science and mathematics, health and medicine, technical education, and guidance and counseling.
Restricted to ODU
International Encyclopedia of Education Elsevier
Fulltext 2010 - Present
Of interest to Educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
Restricted to ODU
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1980 - present
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation. Coverage back to 1980.
Restricted to ODU
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1960's - present
Indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings, covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2009 - Present
Represents the largest study of classroom teaching ever conducted in the United States. Supported by a grant from Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, MET researchers collected a variety of indicators of teaching quality over a two year period (AY 2009-2010 and AY 2010-2011) in the classrooms of more than 2500 fourth- through ninth-grade teachers working in 317 schools located in six large school districts in the United States.
Restricted to ODU
Mental Measurements Yearbook EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1985 - present
Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Database now includes Tests in Print. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Middle and Junior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.
Restricted to ODU
NBC Learn Higher Ed
Streaming Video 1920 - Present
Is a collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images; One of the largest news archives in the world; Collections are updated with current events daily from celebrated NBC programs.
Restricted to ODU
NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data Archive @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995-Present
Provides a valuable source of information for addressing a variety of issues related to both intercollegiate athletics and higher education generally. These data are collected to help answer research questions posed by college presidents, athletics personnel, faculty, student-athlete groups, the media, researchers and others in the higher education community and to assist in the development of national athletics policies.
Restricted to ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Physical Education Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press, featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PreK-3rd Data Resource Center @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1979 - Present
Provides information from the Foundation for Child Development's PreK-3rd initiative and builds the research field by facilitating the analysis of rich, complex, longitudinal datasets that contain a wide range of variables on the child, family, school, and neighborhood.
Restricted to ODU
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995 - 2002
Provides an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743 - Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
PsycINFO APA
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1979 - Present
Provides educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. RCMD provides access and analytic tools enhancements to use of the available data. The archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of minority populations and contributing factors. Access to RCMD data is available to anyone at an ICPSR member university or institution.
Restricted to ODU
Senior High Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
SPORTDiscus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1985 - Present
Serves as the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature. Allows a maximum of 4 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Teacher Reference Center EBSCOhost
No Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
TeachingWithData.org @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1974 - Present
Includes a repository of educational materials designed to improve quantitative literacy skills in social science courses. Built especially for faculty teaching post-secondary courses in such areas as demography, economics, geography, political science, social psychology, and sociology, the materials include stand-alone learning activities, tools, and pedagogy services.
Restricted to ODU
Tests in Print EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Serves as a comprehensive bibliography to commercially available tests in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Tests in Print is now integrated into the same database as the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Restricted to ODU
The Education Research Data Sharing Initiative @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1970 - Present
Aims to build on the expertise and experience in the AERA Grants Program to promote high quality analyses of underutilized data, enable sustained contributions with such data through training and capacity building, and support research capable of adding foundational knowledge of broad significance about teaching and learning in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Restricted to ODU
VAST: Academic Video Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. This collection is unmatched in its breadth. VAST allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from producers and distributors around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z