Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter C

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by index
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.
Restricted to ODU
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Fulltext Current
Provides access to journal publishing directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Curriculum & Methods, Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, and Psychology & Psychiatry. The directories contain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals, as well as information on publication guidelines, acceptance rates and review information.
Restricted to ODU
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Focuses on the role that calcium plays in all aspects of biology and medicine, indexing research in bone metabolism, tooth development, nerve transmission, muscle contraction, hormone secretion, calcium deficiency and many other critical fields.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cambridge Histories Online
Fulltext Historic and Current
Provides access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, published since 1960. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Restricted to ODU
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
No Fulltext Prehistory - Contemporary
Provides access to works of art from the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world and covers the complete range of expressive forms. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes at subscribing institutions if they are properly credited.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2007 - Present
Develops and supports collaborative research and education programs to understand and improve the health of sexual and gender minorities. The Center was established with a five-year Population Research Infrastructure Program grant from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) within the National Institutes of Health, awarded to TFI in 2007.
Restricted to ODU
Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramic Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides international coverage of the ceramics industry, including the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Source materials include journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and company product literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Checkpoint RIA
Fulltext Historic and current
Research Institute of America (RIA) provides CHECKPOINT, a Web-based online service of tax information products. It includes current and archival tax research materials.
Restricted to ODU
Chemoreception Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1982 - present
Indexes the research relating to the neurobiology, chemistry, and physiology of taste, smell, internal chemoreception, and chemotaxis, including coverage of such vital areas as signal transduction, receptors, channels and neurogenetics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1919 - Present
Offers a comprehensive, easily searchable collection of more than 15,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. The site offers the most current publications, as well as links to child care policy statements.
Restricted to ODU
Children's Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian,both periodicals and books, is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books in this collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes reviews, MARC records and related information about children's literature from over 38 quality review media including the ALAN Review, BookList, KIRKUS, National Science Teachers Association, and VOYA. Find books by subject, age level, genre, and much more. Includes Reading Measurement Programs (Lexile, AR, Scholastic Reading Counts), Curriculum Tools, and links to over 240,000 web pages featuring children's authors and illustrators.
Restricted to ODU
China Multi-Generational Panel Dataset @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1749 - 1909
Includes data set observations of more than 260,000 residents from approximately 698 communities in the northeast Chinese province of Liaoning between 1749 and 1909. The data provide socioeconomic, demographic, and other characteristics for individuals, households, and communities, and record demographic outcomes such as marriage, reproduction and death.
Restricted to ODU
CINAHL Plus with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1937 - present
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.
Restricted to ODU
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1860 - 1865
Contains articles from various 19th century newspapers on the Civil War. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
ClasePeriodica FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities, and science and technology. Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Classical Music in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Library Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Current
Provides a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of licensed works to enable comparative listening. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Reference Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Provides electronic access to essential reference materials, including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music. In addition to the Baker's resources, there are biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, critical texts, full text from other major reference works, biographical information, score and lyric excerpts, musical and notational terms, and photographs and images.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Scores Library, Volume I Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Provides access to multiple types of scores across various composers, genres, and time periods. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library, so users can listen to a recording online while following along with the full score. Classical Scores Library serves as an integral resource for music students and faculty, encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Scores Library, Volume II Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic and Current
Serves as the follow-up to Alexander Street's critically acclaimed Classical Scores Library and will bring together 200,000 pages when complete. It's the first online score collection for libraries that's composed mostly of in-copyright classical scores from major composers and editions. When curating the collection, editors targeted individual composers and composer collectives directly to ensure a strong resource for contemporary and previously unpublished works.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Scores Library, Volume III Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic and Current
Brings together 400,000 additional pages of in-copyright editions from composers worldwide. It features modern editions of works by Bach, Beethoven, Berlioz, Brahms, Byrd, Gibbons, Handel, Mendelssohn, Monteverdi, Mozart, and Purcell, as well as classic works by Elgar, De Falla, Franck, Holst, Joubert, Maxwell-Davies, Musgrave, Saariaho, Sallinen, Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky, and many more.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials OVID
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains bibliographic references of definitive controlled trials in health care.
Restricted to ODU
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews OVID
Fulltext Current
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Two types of reviews are included: Complete and Protocols (Protocols are the background, objectives and methods for reviews currently being prepared).
Restricted to ODU
Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys (CPES) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1990 - Present
Provides data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups. CPES permits the investigation of cultural and ethnic influences on mental health.
Restricted to ODU
Colonial State Papers ProQuest
Fulltext 16th - 18th Century
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries from two collections: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739 .
Restricted to ODU
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Fulltext 1991 - present
Contains full text from working papers, conference papers, journal articles, and books related to theory and research in international affairs.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ComAbstracts
No Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available.
Restricted to ODU
Communication and Mass Media Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Compendex Elsevier
Selected Fulltext 1884 - present
Abstracts articles from journals, selected government reports and books on engineering. New records are added to the database annually from disciplines and major specialties within engineering. The electronic version of Engineering Index, it is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Computer & Information Systems Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1981 - present
This bibliographic database provides comprehensive, worldwide literature on the latest theoretical research and practical applications, in the field of computer science and information systems technology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Conference Papers Index ProQuest
No Fulltext 1982 - present
This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1834-1966
Includes the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and beyond. Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Committee Prints ProQuest
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1824 - present
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. Collection includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1873 - 1997
Provides the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, with extensive inserted materials, communications for the president and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports ProQuest
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
Consumer Health Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Contemporary World Music Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Coverage varies
Contains sounds of all regions from every continent, such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat, but also includes other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
Copper Technical Reference Library ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Provides a bibliographic database of the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology. Title changed from Copper Data Center Database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Corporate Affiliations LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Provides instant insight into nearly 200,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions, both public and private. Contains information from type of business, net worth and sales data, to contact information of key personnel and outside firms. Allows 2 users at a time. Please log off when your research is complete.
Restricted to ODU
Corrosion Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1980 - present
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I, II, and III Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I,II, and III provide the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Electronic Library
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly and CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Restricted to ODU
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Fulltext Historic and current
Contains the following resources: Congress and the Nation, Historical Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory.
Restricted to ODU
CrimeStat @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2004 - 2011
Provides analysis of crime incident locations funded by grants from the National Institute of Justice. The purpose is to provide supplemental statistical tools to aid law enforcement agencies and criminal justice researchers in their crime mapping efforts. CrimeStat is being used by many police departments around the country as well as by criminal justice and other researchers.
Restricted to ODU
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1968 - present
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
Restricted to ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All