Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter B

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


Bacteriology Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Covers topics from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, and provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BBC Shakespeare Plays, The
Streaming Video 1590-1613
This series is regarded as the canon against which other Shakespeare performances on film are measured and compared. Thirty-seven plays are chaptered by acts and feature some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. These video clips are an ideal choice for libraries, and literature classes.
Restricted to ODU
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
No Fulltext 1975 - 2007
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Unrestricted
Biography in Context Gale
Fulltext Historic and Current
Provides nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography, bringing users face to face with historical figures and today's most studied newsmakers via videos, audios and images. Includes multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives through the Lives & Perspectives Collection.
Restricted to ODU
Biological Sciences ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books and patents. Biology Digest is ceased and is now archived in Biological Sciences.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BioOne
Fulltext 2000 - present
Includes a broad selection of the full-text, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences member societies, focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne.1 has over eighty publications, most of which are ISI ranked and available back to Volume 1, Issue 1 through JSTOR. BioOne.2 offers a new, diverse group of journals, many of which are internationally based and have not been available online until now.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BioOne Abstracts and Indexes ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1998 to Present
Includes a database that is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
BIOSIS Previews Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, as well as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology. Includes the contents of Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Restricted to ODU
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Biotechnology & BioEngineering Database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. Biotechnology Abstracts and Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts have ceased and are now archived with Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Birds of North America Online
Fulltext 1800's to Present
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada. BNA Online contains image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and more. And most online BNA accounts now feature recordings of the songs and calls of their species, recordings selected from the extensive collection of Cornell's Macaulay Library.
Restricted to ODU
Black Abolitionist Papers ProQuest
Fulltext 1830 - 1865
Searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.
Restricted to ODU
Black Drama, Second Edition Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1850 - present
Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Restricted to ODU
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century ProQuest
Fulltext Historic
Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
BNATax Management Library
Fulltext 1994 - present
Includes a collection of in-depth analyses of specific tax topics, as well as the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, and IRS notices and announcements.
Restricted to ODU
Books In Print
Selected Fulltext Covers current publishing
Offers valuable information on more than 7.5 million U.S. book, audio book, and video titles, as well as 12 million international titles, making it the largest bibliographic database to the industry. Available in web and print formats, this indispensable resource for booksellers, publishers, and librarians also offers: reviews; tables of contents; full-text previews; cover images; author biographies; awards information; annotations; and much more.
Restricted to ODU
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools including an atlas, biographies, news, and multimedia. Also contains a comprehensive database of statistics on every nation of the world, and 225 classic works by 140 authors that offer an introduction to significant works of history, literature, philosophy, and science.
Restricted to ODU
British Newspapers 1600-1900 Gale
Fulltext 1600 - 1900
Provides access to two collections held at the British Library. The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers contains news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers. The 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. The collections can be searched together or separately.
Restricted to ODU
British Periodicals Collection I & II ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal, late 1700's - 1800's
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
Restricted to ODU
BrowZine
Fulltext Coverage varies by Journal
The University Libraries is subscribing to BrowZine. It’s an app for IPad or Android-based tablets that enables faculty, staff and students to browse, read and monitor many of the University Libraries’ scholarly journals. Click here to download BrowZine.
Restricted to ODU
Business Source Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1886 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All