Old Dominion University Libraries
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All
Databases starting with the letter A

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


ABI/INFORM Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Access to information on over 60,000 companies with business and executive profiles.
Restricted to ODU
Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1887 - present
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Access World News NewsBank
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides unique coverage of local and regional newspapers, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Unlimited users.
Restricted to ODU
AccessAnesthesiology
Fulltext 2001-Present
Offers a new approach to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction – all in one place. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content -– optimized for viewing on any device.
Restricted to ODU
Accessible Archives Accessible_Archives
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Includes the following fulltext databases: Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County.
Restricted to ODU
AccessScience
Fulltext Current
Contains the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, as well as research updates, definitions, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies, biographies of well-known scientists, and the latest news in science and technology.
Restricted to ODU
ACM Digital Library ACM
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ACP Journal Club OVID
Fulltext 1991 - present
Consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine. The editors of ACP Journal Club screen top clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract and a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice are also provided.
Restricted to ODU
ACS Journals
Fulltext 1879 - present
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society).
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 2007-Present
Contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Title Changed from High Technology Research Database.
Restricted to ODU
Advertising Redbooks LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Contains detailed information about domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers, including business classification, agency of record, media expenditures, which brands are owned by what company, client lists and billings. Allows five users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
African American Music Reference Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic-1970
Provides a comprehensive reference collection to chronicle the history of African American music through 1970. It brings together the most important reference texts in this subject area, including discographies, and bibliographies together with songsheets, images, and other print resources.
Restricted to ODU
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 Readex
Fulltext 1825-1995
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Restricted to ODU
African American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains full-text of thousands of African-American poems. The African American Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
African American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio 1900's
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
Restricted to ODU
African-American Newspapers:The 19th Century Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1800s
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also included are large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry, prose and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience.
Restricted to ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
Agricola ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1970 - present
Indexes literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) Multiple Chronic Conditions Research and Archive @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1989 - Present
Works to advance the field of Multiple Chronic Conditions (MCC) research, provide needed guidance for clinicians and patients, and advise policy makers about improved methods to measure and promote quality care for complex patients. This web site is dedicated to disseminating data and other documentation created by the AHRQ MCC Research Network.
Restricted to ODU
AIAA Aerospace Research Central
Fulltext 1930 - present
Contains more than four decades of full-text technical information, including journal papers, meeting papers, standards and books, from all of the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Restricted to ODU
AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
This comprehensive database provides bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Information featured in the database concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
AIP Journals - American Institute of Physics
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains highly cited and relevant journals published by the American Institute of Physics. Some titles have fulltext electronic coverage back to 1930.
Restricted to ODU
Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
For the benefit of researchers working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens, this database separates out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizes them in one source for easy reference. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Alt HealthWatch EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports, as well as hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Aluminium Industry Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1972 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Includes information from scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
America's Historical Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1998
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eight series of Early American Newspapers (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922, Series 8, 1844-1922), and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Restricted to ODU
America: History & Life EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1964 - present
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1964 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 Readex
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Restricted to ODU
American Civil War Collection, The: 1860-1922 Readex
Fulltext 1860-1922
Offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War—one of the most pivotal events in American history—and its aftermath. It includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
Restricted to ODU
American History in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1898 to Present
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Indian Histories and Cultures Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1492-Present
Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Restricted to ODU
American Library Directory
Fulltext Current
Provides detailed profiles for more than 35,000 public, academic, special and government libraries, and library-related organizations in the United States, and Canada. Includes addresses, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail addresses, network participation, expenditures, holdings and special collections, key personnel, special services and more. Allows 1 user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
American Periodicals Series ProQuest
Fulltext 1740 - 1940
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc.
Restricted to ODU
American Poetry Database Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext Colonial period to early 20th century
Includes thousands of poems from the colonial period to the early 20th century. The American Poetry Database is part of the UVa Text Collection.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Slavery Collection, The: 1820-1922 Readex
Fulltext 1820-1922
Addresses every facet of American slavery—one of the most important and controversial topics in U.S. history. These diverse materials, all in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Restricted to ODU
American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Pre-1960
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Restricted to ODU
American State Papers Readex
Fulltext 1789 - 1838
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
Restricted to ODU
Anatomy.TV: Dental Hygiene
Fulltext Current
Gives clear, detailed and accurate 3D modeling of the head, oral and nasal cavities, dentition, and individual teeth. Also covers histological, embryological and morphological features and development of the head, neck and dentition including nerve and vascular innervations, muscles of mastication, orofacial embryology and histological features of the oral cavity including dentition. Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time. Subscription limited to Dental Hygiene product.
Restricted to ODU
Animal Behavior Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1982 - present
Covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Annual Reviews
Fulltext Coverage varies
Contains authoritative, analytic reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering ProQuest
No Fulltext 1981 - present
Includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
APA PsycNET APA
Selected Fulltext 1887-present
Provides access to three databases from the American Psychological Association (APA): PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycBOOKS. Check the Quick Reference Guide for help using the database.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Applied Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1983 - present
Provides access to the most important sources in applied science and technology, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Features full text, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of data in scientific and technical articles. Full Text coverage for selected periodicals is also included from 1997 to present.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Aqualine ProQuest
No Fulltext 1960 - present
Focuses on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Articles are drawn from a source list of journals, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books and theses.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ArchiveGrid
No Fulltext Coverage varies
Search for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Art Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Art Index Retrospective EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1913 - Present
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ARTbibliographies Modern ProQuest
No Fulltext 1960 - present
Provides provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Restricted to ODU
ARTFL - American Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Fulltext 17th - 20th century
Provides classical French writings, including literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century.
Restricted to ODU
ArticleFirst FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1990 - present
Indexes articles, news stories, letters and other items listed on the table of contents pages of journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Arts and Humanities Citation Index FirstSearch
No Fulltext 1980 - present
Indexes the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ARTstor ARTstor
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
Restricted to ODU
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
Restricted to ODU
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
This database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASME Digital Library
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to journals published by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
Restricted to ODU
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts ProQuest
No Fulltext 1987 - present
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. ASSIA currently contains records from journals published in many different countries, including the UK and US.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Associates Programs Source EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Focuses on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Fulltext 1996 - Present
Includes a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Atlanta Constitution ProQuest
Fulltext 1868 - 1945
Provides a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction. This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of "Rebels" from the legislature, the giving - then denying - of the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Restricted to ODU
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1934 - present
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Restricted to ODU

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z See All