Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 81 History Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


17th -18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1603 - early 1800's
Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) representing the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
Restricted to ODU
18th Century Collections Online (ECCO) Gale
Fulltext 18th Century
Access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
19th Century British Library Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1800 - 1900
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Restricted to ODU
19th Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
19th Century UK Periodicals Gale
Fulltext 1800 - 1900
Provides access to the series focusing on the British empire in the 19th century. Topics include travel and anthropology, economics, and the missionary and colonial periods. The periodicals are fully searchable and sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries.
Restricted to ODU
Accessible Archives Accessible_Archives
Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Includes the following fulltext databases: Godey's Lady's Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, African American Newspapers, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County.
Restricted to ODU
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 Readex
Fulltext 1825-1995
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Restricted to ODU
African American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio 1900's
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
Restricted to ODU
African-American Newspapers:The 19th Century Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1800s
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also included are large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry, prose and advertisements, all of which embody the African-American experience. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
America's Historical Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1998
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of eight series of Early American Newspapers (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922, Series 8, 1844-1922), and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Restricted to ODU
America: History & Life EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1964 - present
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1964 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 Readex
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Restricted to ODU
American History in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1898 to Present
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Periodicals Series ProQuest
Fulltext 1740 - 1940
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. etc.
Restricted to ODU
American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Pre-1960
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Restricted to ODU
American State Papers Readex
Fulltext 1789 - 1838
Provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Contains numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
ArchiveGrid
No Fulltext Coverage varies
Search for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Atlanta Constitution ProQuest
Fulltext 1868 - 1945
Provides a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction. This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of "Rebels" from the legislature, the giving - then denying - of the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Restricted to ODU
Black Abolitionist Papers ProQuest
Fulltext 1830 - 1865
Searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching.
Restricted to ODU
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century ProQuest
Fulltext Historic
Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
British Newspapers 1600-1900 Gale
Fulltext 1600 - 1900
Provides access to two collections held at the British Library. The 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers contains news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers. The 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains 48 newspapers representing nineteenth century Britain. The collections can be searched together or separately.
Restricted to ODU
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by index
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.
Restricted to ODU
Cambridge Histories Online
Fulltext Historic and Current
Provides access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, published since 1960. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Restricted to ODU
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1860 - 1865
Contains articles from various 19th century newspapers on the Civil War. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
Colonial State Papers ProQuest
Fulltext 16th - 18th Century
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries from two collections: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739 .
Restricted to ODU
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1834-1966
Includes the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and beyond. Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Committee Prints ProQuest
Fulltext 1830 - present
Includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional Committee Prints. Examples of committee print content include: research papers by committee staff, Congressional Research Service experts, or outside consultants; committee rules and calendars; compilations of laws; transcripts of markup sessions or other proceedings; and legislative descriptions and analyses.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1824 - present
Provides digital access to abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings. Collection includes House and Senate Unpublished Hearings, Part A (1973-1979).
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection ProQuest
Fulltext 1873 - 1997
Provides the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, with extensive inserted materials, communications for the president and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.
Restricted to ODU
Congressional Research Service Reports ProQuest
Fulltext 1916 - present
Provides nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. The current research divisions are: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry. This collection includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs.
Restricted to ODU
Digital National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are many complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
Digital Sanborn Maps ProQuest
Fulltext 1867 -1970
Provides large-scale maps of towns and cities in Virginia, plus Washington, DC. This resource is valuable to anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Data include the outline of each building; size, shape, and construction materials; functions of structures; locations of windows and doors; street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses Full Text ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1861 - present
Contains many full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also indexes dissertations and theses back to 1861. A subset of this database is Dissertations & Theses @ ODU, which allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Newspapers Readex
Fulltext 1690 - 1922
Contains U.S. historical newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. This collection is made up of nine series (Series I, 1690-1876; Series II, 1758-1900; Series III, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1756-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922; Series 8, 1844-1922; and Series 9, 1832-1922).
Restricted to ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
Empire Online Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext Coverage varies
A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Restricted to ODU
English Short Title Catalogue
No Fulltext 1473 - 1800
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world, including all recorded English monographs printed between 1473 and 1800. The British Library has made this freely available online for the first time.
Unrestricted
Financial Times Historical Archive Gale
Fulltext 1888 - 2006
Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century.
Restricted to ODU
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Readex
Fulltext 1965 - 1996
Contains transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. As such, the FBIS Daily Reports provide a unique historical archive essential for international studies, political science and world history.
Restricted to ODU
Gale NewsVault Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Search or browse across the following Gale historical newspaper and periodical collections: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and the Times Digital Archive.
Restricted to ODU
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs ProQuest
Fulltext 1543-1945
Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. This collection was started in the late 1800's by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen, and has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Restricted to ODU
Godey's Lady's Book Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1830 - 1885
Contains articles on a wide variety of subjects, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. The magazine is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture. Also includes fashion descriptions and plates, book reviews, essays and short stories, and sheet music. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction
Fulltext 1857 - 1877
Provides full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly and a very elaborate index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Historical Abstracts EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1955 - present
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Fulltext Colonial times - present
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
Restricted to ODU
Illustrated London News Gale
Fulltext 1842 - 2003
Contains the full facsimile run of the world's most iconic illustrated newspaper. The Illustrated London News was founded by Herbert Ingram, an entrepreneurial newsagent, who noticed that newspapers sold more copies when they carried pictures. The ILN commissioned a galaxy of great artists and draughtsmen to cover wars, royal events, scientific invention, and exploration.
Restricted to ODU
International Studies Encyclopedia Online Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1959 - Present
Published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International Studies Online) or as a 12-volume set in print. This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. NEW FEATURE--JSTOR now offers access to Early Journal Content (pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
Restricted to ODU
Making of the Modern World Gale
Fulltext 1450 - 1850
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, covering commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Restricted to ODU
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1750 - 1950
Brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Restricted to ODU
National Security Archive ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies by collection
Provides a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Restricted to ODU
NBC Learn Higher Ed
Streaming Video 1920 - Present
Is a collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images; One of the largest news archives in the world; Collections are updated with current events daily from celebrated NBC programs.
Restricted to ODU
New York Times w/ Index ProQuest
Fulltext 1851 - 2006
Provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. The Index covers 1851-1993.
Restricted to ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Restricted to ODU
Norfolk Journal and Guide ProQuest
Fulltext 1921 - 2003
Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the "Dean of the Negro Press", The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.
Restricted to ODU
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander_Street
Fulltext Colonial to 1950
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, including more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Restricted to ODU
Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
Fulltext 1993 - present
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Requires UNICODE-based Internet browsers, such as MS Internet Explorer 5.5, Netscape 6.21 or higher versions.
Unrestricted
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Pennsylvania Gazette Accessible_Archives
Fulltext 1728 - 1800
Provides full text articles, news items, editorials, letters, etc. from The Pennsylvania Gazette, considered The New York Times of the 18th century. Also includes full-text of documents such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. Select from the Source list.
Restricted to ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
ProQuest ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by database
Provides access to several databases, including ABI/INFORM Global, Dissertations & Theses Full Text, High Technology & Aerospace Journals, American Periodicals Series Online. Also includes historical newspapers - the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, the Norfolk Journal and Guide, and The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century .
Restricted to ODU
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Routledge
Fulltext Historic and Current
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Restricted to ODU
Sabin Americana, 1500 - 1926 Gale
Fulltext 1500 -1926
Contains books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about the Americas that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Serial Set) Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1980
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Restricted to ODU
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Gale
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
Restricted to ODU
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1490-2007
Provides a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Restricted to ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Gale
Fulltext 1822 - 2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail.
Restricted to ODU
The Times Digital Archive Gale
Fulltext 1785 - 2006
Contains full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page from The Times (London).The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Readex
Fulltext 1817 - 1980
Contains the digital version of the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, providing primary source material on all aspects of American history.
Restricted to ODU
Virginia Company Archives Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext Early 1600's
Contains the Ferrar Papers (Nicholas Ferrar and family) which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge. Also includes transcripts of documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London, the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London edited by Susan Myra Kingsbury, as well as prints and maps.
Restricted to ODU
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Fulltext 1889 - 1996
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Focuses on business, finance, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Restricted to ODU
Washington Post ProQuest
Fulltext 1877 - 1993
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Restricted to ODU
Women and Social Movements International Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1840 - present
Contains a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Restricted to ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z