Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 53 Business and Economy Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


ABI/INFORM Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1971 - present
Search nearly 3000 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Access to information on over 60,000 companies with business and executive profiles.
Restricted to ODU
Advertising Redbooks LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Contains detailed information about domestic and international advertising agencies and advertisers, including business classification, agency of record, media expenditures, which brands are owned by what company, client lists and billings. Allows five users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
BNATax Management Library
Fulltext 1994 - present
Includes a collection of in-depth analyses of specific tax topics, as well as the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, and IRS notices and announcements.
Restricted to ODU
Business Source Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1886 - present
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Fulltext Current
Provides access to journal publishing directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Curriculum & Methods, Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, and Psychology & Psychiatry. The directories contain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals, as well as information on publication guidelines, acceptance rates and review information.
Restricted to ODU
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2007 - Present
Develops and supports collaborative research and education programs to understand and improve the health of sexual and gender minorities. The Center was established with a five-year Population Research Infrastructure Program grant from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) within the National Institutes of Health, awarded to TFI in 2007.
Restricted to ODU
Checkpoint RIA
Fulltext Historic and current
Research Institute of America (RIA) provides CHECKPOINT, a Web-based online service of tax information products. It includes current and archival tax research materials.
Restricted to ODU
Corporate Affiliations LexisNexis
Fulltext Current
Provides instant insight into nearly 200,000 parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions, both public and private. Contains information from type of business, net worth and sales data, to contact information of key personnel and outside firms. Allows 2 users at a time. Please log off when your research is complete.
Restricted to ODU
Data Sharing for Demographic Research @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1705-Present
Provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed.
Restricted to ODU
EconLit ProQuest
No Fulltext 1969 - present
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations, covering both economic theory and application. Includes fulltext of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Emerald Management Xtra
Fulltext 1989 - present
Contains searchable articles from Emerald journals. Subjects covered include management, human resource management, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
Restricted to ODU
Europa World Plus
Fulltext 2006 -- present
Contains the online version of the Europa World Yearbook and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series including: Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, the Far East and Australasia, the Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. Provides economic and political information and statistical data for more than 250 countries.
Restricted to ODU
ExecuComp Standard_and_Poors
Fulltext Historic and current
Offers executive compensation data including current, historical, total compensation, executive options and compensation of industry peers. Selected company financial information enables you to compare executive pay versus company performance.
Restricted to ODU
Factiva Dow_Jones
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Financial Times Historical Archive Gale
Fulltext 1888 - 2006
Delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage, recognising that global financial and economic issues were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century.
Restricted to ODU
Global Financial Database
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides an extensive collection of financial and economic data covering more than 200 countries extending back to 1265. The database contains economic, fixed income, equity, and total return categories, as well as a Global History of Currencies feature. NOTE: Our subscription includes the U.S. Stock Market Database, and the Real Estate Database.
Restricted to ODU
GreenFILE EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1950 - Present
Preserves and disseminates data collected by research projects funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the nation's largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to improving the health and health care of all Americans.
Restricted to ODU
Hospitality & Tourism Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1965 - present
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Publications include periodicals, company and country reports, and books. Coverage is both domestic and international, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
IBISWorld
Fulltext Current
Provides access to IBISWorld Industry Research reports using Michael Porter's Five Competitive Forces framework providing data on key statistics, industry structure and analysis, and factors that affect the industry.
Restricted to ODU
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook IMD
Fulltext Current 5 years
Includes all the information from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, which analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. It covers countries and regional economies using 331 criteria, grouped into 4 main factors: economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
Restricted to ODU
Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1955 - Present
Offers data and tools for examining issues related to families and fertility in the United States spanning five decades. IFSS encompasses the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG), as well as a single dataset of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Analytic tools make it possible to quickly and easily explore the data and obtain information about changes in behaviors and attitudes across time.
Restricted to ODU
International Financial Statistics
Fulltext 1948 - Present
Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. NEW FEATURE--JSTOR now offers access to Early Journal Content (pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
Restricted to ODU
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis
Selected Fulltext Varies
Provides full-text documents from business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
Restricted to ODU
Lynda.com
Streaming Video 1995 - Present
An online training library that offers training video and labs on the latest software, creative, and business skills.
Restricted to ODU
Making of the Modern World Gale
Fulltext 1450 - 1850
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, covering commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Restricted to ODU
Mergent Horizon
Fulltext Current
Provides users with seamless capabilities for finding, filtering and organizing information about companies and industries. Comprehensive coverage is provided for all companies that are actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ--over 6,200 in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mergent Online
Fulltext Current
Provides access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Mergent WebReports
Fulltext 1900's to present
Provides access to a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents through the following modules: Corporate Manuals and Municipal & Government Manuals. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
Restricted to ODU
Mintel Reports
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts. Please create or sign-in to your Mintel Reports Personal Profile if you wish to save, download, or bookmark records. You must sign-up with your Old Dominion University e-mail address to create your Mintel Reports Personal Profile.
Restricted to ODU
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Fulltext Coverage varies by report
Provides in-depth data and analysis for stocks and mutual funds. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1804 - Present
Acquires and provides access to data relevant to gerontological research with an emphasis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1948 - Present
Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
Restricted to ODU
OECD iLibrary
Selected Fulltext January 1998 - present
OECD's iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
Restricted to ODU
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995 - 2002
Provides an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence.
Restricted to ODU
Regional Business News EBSCOhost
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1979 - Present
Provides educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. RCMD provides access and analytic tools enhancements to use of the available data. The archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of minority populations and contributing factors. Access to RCMD data is available to anyone at an ICPSR member university or institution.
Restricted to ODU
RIA Checkpoint Tax Service RIA
Fulltext Historic and current
Research Institute of America (RIA) provides CHECKPOINT, a Web-based online service of tax information products. It includes current and archival tax research materials.
Restricted to ODU
Safari Books Online ProQuest
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides an e-reference library containing collections of emerging technology books, manuscripts, papers and instructional video, geared towards IT, software developers, web designers, system administrators and creative pros. Allows a maximum of 47 users at a time.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
SAGE Journals Online
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides access to SAGE's prestigious and highly cited journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's award-winning, discipline-specific research databases, are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
Restricted to ODU
SAGE Reference Online
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides access to over 200 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science ISI
Selected Fulltext 1900 - present (includes Archives)
Indexes journals across social science disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
Sports Market Place Directory
Selected Fulltext Current
Provides current key information about the people, organizations and events involving the explosive sports industry.
Restricted to ODU
Statistical Abstract of the United States ProQuest
Fulltext 1878 - Present
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Restricted to ODU
Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1955 - Present
Archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.
Restricted to ODU
Thomson ONE (Requires Internet Explorer 6.0, 7.0, or 8.0) Thomson_Reuters
Fulltext 1970 - present
Thomson ONE provides detailed financial information, including historical data and forecasts, for U.S. and international public companies; Has expanded pricing and exchange history back to 1970. Allows a maximum of 20 users at a time. For information about installing the Thomson Reuters Spreadsheet Link (TRSL), contact Miriam Bridges (mbridges@odu.edu).
Restricted to ODU
TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1990 - 2006
Includes various versions of the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded from the maps or menu interfaces associated with each of the TIGER versions.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Census Data @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1790 - 2010
Serves as a focus for United States Census materials. The site seeks to provide information about all U.S. Census data and documentation files, training activities, links to relevant sites for Census users, and guidelines to aid researchers in the use of these files.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Stock Market Database
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides comprehensive current and historical coverage of stocks traded on exchanges in the United States, with daily data for current US stocks back to 1970 and monthly data back to 1815. Stock market indices, historical stock data, delisted stocks, and fundamental data are included. NOTE: Our subscription includes the Global Financial Database, but not the Real Estate Database.
Restricted to ODU
Value Line Investment Survey
Fulltext 1931 to Present
Contains a richly detailed and continuously updated compendium of current and historical market and financial data spanning thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables.
Restricted to ODU
Vente et Gestion EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. Covers topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z