Old Dominion University Libraries
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

There are 100 Arts and Humanities Databases available

For additional print and web-based resources, see the Subject Guides


17th -18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1603 - early 1800's
Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) representing the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
Restricted to ODU
19th Century British Library Newspapers Gale
Fulltext 1800 - 1900
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Restricted to ODU
19th Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to ODU
African American Music Reference Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic-1970
Provides a comprehensive reference collection to chronicle the history of African American music through 1970. It brings together the most important reference texts in this subject area, including discographies, and bibliographies together with songsheets, images, and other print resources.
Restricted to ODU
African American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio 1900's
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
Restricted to ODU
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia Readex
Fulltext 1535 - 1922
Created from the Library Company's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection. This collection is an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history. This unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.
Restricted to ODU
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 Readex
Fulltext 1760 - 1900
Contains broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Restricted to ODU
American History in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1898 to Present
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
American Indian Histories and Cultures Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1492-Present
Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Restricted to ODU
American Slavery Collection, The: 1820-1922 Readex
Fulltext 1820-1922
Addresses every facet of American slavery—one of the most important and controversial topics in U.S. history. These diverse materials, all in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Restricted to ODU
American Song Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Pre-1960
Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Restricted to ODU
AP Images
Selected Fulltext Current
Contains current photos and a selection of historical pictures from the large image, print and negative library of the Associated Press. Now includes AP graphics files. [Does not include the audio and text files]. Allows a maximum of 5 users at one time.
Restricted to ODU
Art Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1984 - present
Art Full Text features full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995 and indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Art Index Retrospective EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1913 - Present
Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more. This unique resource guides users to contemporary criticism of art at the time of its debut, helps track the body of work of an individual artist or an entire movement, and provides access to artists’ interviews, commentaries and more.
Restricted to ODU
ARTbibliographies Modern ProQuest
No Fulltext 1960 - present
Provides provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Restricted to ODU
ARTFL - American Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Fulltext 17th - 20th century
Provides classical French writings, including literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century.
Restricted to ODU
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Restricted to ODU
ARTstor ARTstor
Fulltext Historic and current
Provides a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives.
Restricted to ODU
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1934 - present
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Restricted to ODU
BBC Shakespeare Plays, The
Streaming Video 1590-1613
This series is regarded as the canon against which other Shakespeare performances on film are measured and compared. Thirty-seven plays are chaptered by acts and feature some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. These video clips are an ideal choice for libraries, and literature classes.
Restricted to ODU
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
No Fulltext 1975 - 2007
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Unrestricted
Black Drama, Second Edition Alexander_Street
Fulltext 1850 - present
Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Restricted to ODU
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century ProQuest
Fulltext Historic
Offers all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Restricted to ODU
Black Studies in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1776-Present
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Restricted to ODU
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ProQuest
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by index
Creates integrated bibliographic coverage of books, official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers, from indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Palmer's Index to the Times and Periodicals Index Online.
Restricted to ODU
CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
No Fulltext Prehistory - Contemporary
Provides access to works of art from the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world and covers the complete range of expressive forms. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes at subscribing institutions if they are properly credited.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2007 - Present
Develops and supports collaborative research and education programs to understand and improve the health of sexual and gender minorities. The Center was established with a five-year Population Research Infrastructure Program grant from the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) within the National Institutes of Health, awarded to TFI in 2007.
Restricted to ODU
Children's Core Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Current
This rich resource covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian,both periodicals and books, is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books in this collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.
Restricted to ODU
China Multi-Generational Panel Dataset @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1749 - 1909
Includes data set observations of more than 260,000 residents from approximately 698 communities in the northeast Chinese province of Liaoning between 1749 and 1909. The data provide socioeconomic, demographic, and other characteristics for individuals, households, and communities, and record demographic outcomes such as marriage, reproduction and death.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Library Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Current
Provides a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of licensed works to enable comparative listening. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Music Reference Library Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Provides electronic access to essential reference materials, including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music. In addition to the Baker's resources, there are biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, critical texts, full text from other major reference works, biographical information, score and lyric excerpts, musical and notational terms, and photographs and images.
Restricted to ODU
Classical Scores Library, Volumes I, II, and III Alexander_Street
Fulltext Historic & current
Classical Scores Library is a series of three volumes and contains the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material. An integral resource for music students and faculty, encompassing all major classical musical genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory for a variety of scholars.
Restricted to ODU
ComAbstracts
No Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Other resources of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) are also available.
Restricted to ODU
Communication and Mass Media Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Adam_Matthew_Digital
Fulltext 1834-1966
Includes the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa, from the occupation of Algeria by France, through increasing British presence on the west African coast and beyond. Confidential Print: Africa is a fundamental resource for academics, students and researchers studying modern Africa and its recent history.
Restricted to ODU
Contemporary World Music Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Coverage varies
Contains sounds of all regions from every continent, such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat, but also includes other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
CrimeStat @ ICPSR
Fulltext 2004 - 2011
Provides analysis of crime incident locations funded by grants from the National Institute of Justice. The purpose is to provide supplemental statistical tools to aid law enforcement agencies and criminal justice researchers in their crime mapping efforts. CrimeStat is being used by many police departments around the country as well as by criminal justice and other researchers.
Restricted to ODU
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index ProQuest
No Fulltext 1973 - present
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
Restricted to ODU
Dance in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 20th Century
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Restricted to ODU
Data Sharing for Demographic Research @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1705-Present
Provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed.
Restricted to ODU
Dissertations & Theses @ ODU ProQuest
Fulltext 1861 - Present
Allows you to access the citations and abstracts of all ODU student dissertations and theses, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743-Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Readex
Fulltext 1639-1800
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. Digitized from one of the most important collections ever produced on microform, Early American Imprints, Series I is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement.
Restricted to ODU
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 Readex
Fulltext 1801-1819
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Restricted to ODU
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ProQuest
Fulltext 1473 - 1700
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Restricted to ODU
FIAF, the International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Chadwyck_Healey
Selected Fulltext 1938 - Present
Covers academic and popular film journals and includes full-text content from over 50 journals.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes nearly 100 books, Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present, and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Restricted to ODU
Filmakers Library Online, Volumes 1 and 2 Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Restricted to ODU
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Alexander_Street
Fulltext Current
Provides a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. It includes the entire set of 10 print volumes, with additional features from Alexander Street Press.
Restricted to ODU
Grove Art Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes new and updated articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles and extensive image links. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Grove Music Online
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Humanities International Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Integrated Fertility Survey Series (IFSS) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1955 - Present
Offers data and tools for examining issues related to families and fertility in the United States spanning five decades. IFSS encompasses the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG), as well as a single dataset of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Analytic tools make it possible to quickly and easily explore the data and obtain information about changes in behaviors and attitudes across time.
Restricted to ODU
International Bibliography of Art ProQuest
No Fulltext 2008 - present
Provides scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from the Getty Research Institute.
Restricted to ODU
International Encyclopedia of Education Elsevier
Fulltext 2010 - Present
Of interest to Educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
Restricted to ODU
International Studies Encyclopedia Online Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 1959 - Present
Published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International Studies Online) or as a 12-volume set in print. This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations.
Restricted to ODU
Jazz Music Library Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Historic - present
Provides the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Artists range from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Liner notes to all the albums are included (in PDF format) as well as static URLs to each track and album in the database.
Restricted to ODU
JSTOR JSTOR
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library. NEW FEATURE--JSTOR now offers access to Early Journal Content (pre-1870 and pre-1923-present).
Restricted to ODU
LGBT Thought and Culture Alexander_Street
Fulltext 20th Century - Present
Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s to present, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
Restricted to ODU
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1980 - present
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation. Coverage back to 1980.
Restricted to ODU
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1973 - present
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Online (LION) Chadwyck_Healey
Fulltext 1996 - Present
A searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 383 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Literature Resource Center Gale
Selected Fulltext Varied
Includes criticisms, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes fulltext information from many standard reference sources including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
MLA International Bibliography ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1926 - present
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Music Index Online EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1975- present
Indexes international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music. Includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Restricted to ODU
Music Online Alexander_Street
Fulltext Coverage varies
Provides a comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. The new interface cross-searches the following Alexander Street products, African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Restricted to ODU
MusicalAmerica.com
Fulltext Coverage varies
Includes industry articles, agent search, artist search, press releases, calendar of events and a career center.
Restricted to ODU
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1960 - Present
Acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. By preserving and making available an easily accessible library of electronic data on drug addiction and HIV infection in the United States, NAHDAP offers scholars the opportunity to conduct secondary analysis on major issues of social and behavioral sciences and public policy. NAHDAP was established at ICPSR in 2010 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), part of the National Institutes of Health.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1804 - Present
Acquires and provides access to data relevant to gerontological research with an emphasis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
Restricted to ODU
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1948 - Present
Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
Restricted to ODU
National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive Gale
Fulltext 1888-1994
Brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Restricted to ODU
NBC Learn Higher Ed
Streaming Video 1920 - Present
Is a collection of primary source videos, newsreels, documents, and images; One of the largest news archives in the world; Collections are updated with current events daily from celebrated NBC programs.
Restricted to ODU
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Gale
Fulltext 19th Century
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society, Archive 2: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Art Online Oxford
Fulltext Prehistory - present
Provides a gateway to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online (Oxford DNB Online) Oxford
Fulltext 4th century BC to 21st century
Includes a collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford
Fulltext Current
Includes the Oxford English Dictionary, and the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which contains almost the entire vocabulary of English, from Old English to the present day. Also offers publicly available editorial features, providing guides to the OED content and regular commentaries on topical issues in the story of the English language.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Oxford Music Online Oxford
Fulltext Prehistory to present
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Contains illustrations and musical examples, including sound examples, and links to related sites. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Allows a maximum of 3 users at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Philosopher's Index EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1940 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Allows one user at a time.
Restricted to ODU
Political Science Complete EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1922 - Present
Has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. Political Science Complete includes a subject-specific thesaurus.
Restricted to ODU
Project Muse
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Provides fulltext of articles from journal titles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Restricted to ODU
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1995 - 2002
Provides an interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development in urban Chicago neighborhoods. It examined the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors, including the causes of juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence.
Restricted to ODU
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global ProQuest
Selected Fulltext 1743 - Present
Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. Direct access to full text and other ProQuest and ebook subscriptions advance the research process.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Religion and Philosophy Collection EBSCOhost
Selected Fulltext 1975 - present
Provides indexing and abstracts as well as full-text, peer-reviewed journals, covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU
Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1979 - Present
Provides educators, researchers, and students with data resources so that they can produce analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. RCMD provides access and analytic tools enhancements to use of the available data. The archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of minority populations and contributing factors. Access to RCMD data is available to anyone at an ICPSR member university or institution.
Restricted to ODU
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature EBSCOhost
No Fulltext 1967 - present
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Restricted to ODU
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online Routledge
Fulltext Historic and Current
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Restricted to ODU
ScienceDirect Elsevier
Fulltext Coverage varies by journal
Indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed research journals in the sciences and includes links to many full text articles.
Restricted to ODU
Sears List of Subject Headings (H.W. Wilson) EBSCOhost
Fulltext 1923 - Present
A thesaurus-like database delivering a core list of headings, together with patterns and examples to guide the cataloger in creating further headings as needed. It serves the unique needs of small and medium sized libraries.
Restricted to ODU
Silent Film Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 1890-1930
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Restricted to ODU
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Alexander_Street
Streaming Audio Coverage varies
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.
Restricted to ODU
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 Gale
Fulltext 1822 - 2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on October 20, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics-all collide in its pages in an abundance of colourful detail.
Restricted to ODU
TeachingWithData.org @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1974 - Present
Includes a repository of educational materials designed to improve quantitative literacy skills in social science courses. Built especially for faculty teaching post-secondary courses in such areas as demography, economics, geography, political science, social psychology, and sociology, the materials include stand-alone learning activities, tools, and pedagogy services.
Restricted to ODU
Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1955 - Present
Archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.
Restricted to ODU
Theatre in Video Alexander_Street
Streaming Video 20th Century
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. These actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience, cover a wide range of 20th century theatre history and represent hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Restricted to ODU
TIGER/Line Files @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1990 - 2006
Includes various versions of the Census Bureau's TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing) database. Data for individual states can be downloaded from the maps or menu interfaces associated with each of the TIGER versions.
Restricted to ODU
U.S. Census Data @ ICPSR
Fulltext 1790 - 2010
Serves as a focus for United States Census materials. The site seeks to provide information about all U.S. Census data and documentation files, training activities, links to relevant sites for Census users, and guidelines to aid researchers in the use of these files.
Restricted to ODU
VAST: Academic Video Online Alexander_Street
Streaming Video Coverage varies
A multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. This collection is unmatched in its breadth. VAST allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from producers and distributors around the world.
Restricted to ODU
Web of Science Thomson_Reuters
No Fulltext Coverage varies by Index
Provides access to the following databases: Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Journal Citation Reports (JCR); Medline; Biosis Previews; Science: 1950-Present; Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present (includes Archives); Social Science & Humanities: 1950-present; and Zoological Record.
Restricted to ODU
Wiley Online Library Wiley-Blackwell
Fulltext 2007-Present
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical, and scholarly journals from professional fields and partnerships with many of the world's leading societies.
Restricted to VIVA/ODU

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z