Harvey J. Stokes

Cover page of Stokes' String Quartet no. 2

Harvey Stokes' String Quartet No. 2 was composed during the fall of 1992 and dedicated to The Oxford String Quartet which is based in Oxford, Ohio, at Miami University. This substantial work, thirty minutes in length, consists of three movements labelled Furioso, Moderato, and Andante. The first movement is constructed in sonata form, the second is a two-part form, and the third is a three-part form. Subtle cycles of recurring motives and rhythmic figures unify the three movements. There are very light textures in all of the movements but there is a marked feeling of intensity, giving the piece a rare quality; Each instrument is heard distinctly which renders a more heterogeneous group sound.

Copy of original loaned by Harvey J. Stokes.

Go to the top of the exhibit
Click here to see selections from the score