Copyright © 2010 Old Dominion University Libraries Diehn Composers Room
Looney Tunes is a Warner Bros. animated cartoon series, which ran in many movie theaters from 1929 to 1970. Merrie Melodies is the name of a series of animated cartoons distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures between 1931 and 1970. Looney Tunes preceded the Merrie Melodies series and is Warner Bros. first animated theatrical series.
Later Looney Tunes shorts featured popular characters such as Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, Elmer Fudd, Sylvester, Tweety, Marvin the Martian, The Tasmanian Devil (Taz), Wile E. Coyote and Road Runner, Foghorn P. Leghorn, Yosemite Sam, Pepe Le Pew, Speedy Gonzales and many others.
Silly Symphonies is a series of animated short subjects, 75 in total, produced by Walt Disney Productions from 1929 to 1939, while the studio was still located at Hyperion Avenue in the Silver Lake district of Los Angeles.
Unlike the Mickey Mouse series, to which it is a sister series, Silly Symphonies did not usually feature continuing characters (an exception being the characters in The Three Little Pigs which had three sequels).
Donald Duck got his start in a Silly Symphonies cartoon (The Wise Little Hen, 1934), and Pluto's first appearance without Mickey Mouse was also in a Silly Symphonies cartoon (Just Dogs, 1932).