Old Dominion University Libraries

Policies & Procedures

Policies & Procedures



Collection Development Policy

University Profile

Old Dominion University is a metropolitan, public, doctoral research institution. The University comprises six colleges: the College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business and Public Administration, the Darden College of Education, the Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology, the College of Health Sciences, and the College of Sciences. The University offers 70 baccalaureate programs, 60 master’s programs, two education specialist programs, and 36 doctoral programs. Old Dominion University has achieved designation as a Research University (high research activity) from the Carnegie Foundation for Advancement of Teaching. The University currently enrolls more than 17,000 undergraduates and 5,750 graduates and has 717 full-time and 449 part-time faculty members.



Old Dominion University, located in the City of Norfolk in the metropolitan Hampton Roads region of coastal Virginia, is a dynamic public research institution that serves its students and enriches the Commonwealth of Virginia, the nation, and the world through rigorous academic programs, strategic partnerships, and active civic engagement.

University Libraries

The University Libraries promote student and faculty success in learning, teaching, and research.  We build, manage, and preserve research and information collections; serve the information needs of our community in a welcoming physical and virtual environment; and create and foster collaborative opportunities for research and service.